A bit of my story!

My name is Brett Gorney and I’m proud to say that I am a Christian.  Yep, that’s me in the picture above just after I was freshly dunked during my baptism at Buckhead Church in Atlanta, Georgia on June 27, 2010.  Many of you know my story and many of you don’t.  If you’ve got a few days maybe we could go for a road trip and I’ll tell you about it because, boy can I tell a long story, and there’s plenty of chapters that’ll make your jaw drop!  You can watch my video testimony and baptism at the end of this post.  Just an FYI..the jaw dropping stories are left out!

Just like millions of other people, I’ve gone through the highs and lows of trying to figure and lead life on my own and I just kept running in the same circles over and over.  After one more heart-breaking, low point, I finally came to realize that God’s hand was at work in breaking me down to get my attention. So on February 4, 2010, I threw in the towel and prayed for Jesus to come into my heart, asked for His forgiveness of my sins and accepted Him as my Lord and Savior.  He is my new solid rock foundation…my new life is all His.

Prior to all of this, I was constantly looking for security and acceptance from girlfriends, friends, my job, things I couldn’t afford…the list goes on.  However, since accepting Christ into my heart and becoming a follower of Him, I’ve sought His wisdom and guidance along with that of other Christians as well as non-Christians.  Now I am becoming the man I believe God wants me to become so that I’m better prepared to handle the path of life He has prepared in advance for me.

A lot has changed in my life over the past 15 months.  I’m still the same, fun-loving, caring, act like a big kid kinda of guy who’ll go have some beers with the boys and make some mistakes from time to time.  But I just live and walk with the Spirit of God inside of me which, for me, is my new found source of strength and security.  And out of all of this I’ve truly learned to feel blessed just to wake up each day and thank God for my family, friends and the ability to simply be patient and trust in His will being done in my life.

So with that I’ll share a brief story as to why I’m passionate about “Encouraging Others to Live the Abundant Life!”  (Just in case you didn’t notice, its the subtitle of my blog site.)  Now before you get all uptight, I’m not here to get all righteous, Bible-banging, Freaky-Jesus on you and start stuffing pamphlets in your face.  I’m simply sharing with you why I chose to title my blog with this and what it means to me so that you may get a better idea of who I am.  If it makes you uncomfortable, that’s great too – God gave us all the freedom of choice! 🙂  So here you go…

In John 10:10 it says, “I came so that they may have life and have it ABUNDANTLY.”

That bible verse has been in my heart ever since a sunny afternoon on Saturday, October 23, 2011.  I was up in the North Georgia Mountains attending my first “Souly Business” men’s retreat.  We were asked to go spend some time on our own and ask, “God, what is keeping me from the abundant life?”, and then write our answers on a note card.  I knew what Jesus meant in saying this to the Pharisees and his disciples, but I just wasn’t getting an answer from God as to exactly what was keeping ME from the abundant life.

Later that evening all 125 men attending the retreat were silently, walking in a single file line down to the lake.  We were on a narrow path winding through the woods and the pace seemed really slow for me.  I was on the heels of the guy in front of me and then God just laid it on me!  I heard a voice in my head, loud and clear, that said, “Patience My Son!” and I just stopped and huge smile grew on my face.  Ever since becoming a Christian (only 9 months prior to this event), I’d been struggling with wanting God to hurry up with His great plan for my life so I could have things like a successful career, financial stability, a wife and kids, ability to give more to the Church and to those in need, etc.  I wanted all these things to happen sooner than later…especially now that I was living and walking in a new light.  But God put it on my heart, right then and there, to BE PATIENT and WAIT on Him!  So when we got down to the lake, I took the blank card out of my pocket and wrote “PATIENCE” on that card in big bold letters.  Then one by one all 125 men at the retreat took their cards and nailed them to a cross they had set up down by the lake along side a big bonfire.   After hammering my card into the cross I just broke down into tears as I reflected on the moment.  I wept in reverence and thankfulness to Jesus for paying the ultimate price for my impatience and I also wept tears of joy as it became so apparent to me at how easy life can be if when you simply just trust in Him!  “Strength will rise as we WAIT upon the Lord!”

So that is a huge piece of my puzzle that helps me to understand how to Live the Abundant Life and, for me, that includes Waiting Patiently and Trusting in Him!  Now keep in mind, that’s for me and that may look totally different for you and that is totally cool!  So in a nutshell, my hopes and prayers are that my story may resonate with you and that you might just ask yourself, someone else…or even God…the exact same question that I asked…“What is keeping me from living the abundant life?” – The answer will come to you…just BE PATIENT!

If I can ever help you out in anyway or if you want to share any of your story with me, I’m only a click away!

Enjoy the video below!

Best Wishes & Blessings!

Brett Gorney



6 thoughts on “A bit of my story!

  1. Well said, my friend! Watching the transformation over these past 15 months has been an inspiration not only to me, but to all of those around you. The light in your eyes (God’s light) now shines with ever-growing strength. I recall that walk down to the lake and the moment that I nailed my card to the cross. Life has never been the same. Thank you so much for inviting me to join you that weekend. I pray that god continues to bless you down under and look forward to reading more posts as they are added!

  2. Thanks for sharing. Amy and I were so blessed watching it. We both were born again over 10 years ago, yet there is something about seeing someone you know from childhood finding Jesus that really inspires. Maybe we can have a chance to talk about the Lord over a round of golf if you ever make it back up to NY. BTW I also love the “grain flow forging” of my Mizuno irons.

    • Jon,

      Wow! What an awesome surprise to hear from you! Amazing how God reconnects his sons and daughters! I had no idea you and Amy were followers of Christ! I would love to share some stories over some golf. I’ll actually be up in NY for my 20th reunion for the last weekend of July. I’m most likely coming up for a week or two before. Shoot me an email to brett@brettgorney.com and we’ll sort something out!

  3. Praise the Lord Brett. Such a blessing to read about your experience. I came to the Lord about 6 years ago after many many years of trying to make my life work in my own power. Since then, he’s transformed my entire life in wonderful ways. Patience has always been important for me as well… “Be anxious for nothing… ” Ph4:6. Looking forward to seeing you at the reunion next month.

    • David…great to hear from you too brother! Did John lead you to Christ? That would be a cool story!! Totally looking forward to hanging at the reunion!!!

  4. I love this story, and I’ve loved witnessing (mostly through Facebook) this journey you’re on. Keep documenting it!

Leave a Reply

